The first conference on Indian Radar Meteorology (iRAD) an initiative of the Ministry of Earth Science (MoES), was held successfully at the Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur during 08-11 January 2017. A series of iRAD conferences were successfully organized. To promote the growth of radar meteorology in the country, the 6th Conference on India Radar Meteorology (iRAD 2024) will be hosted by the Indian Institute of Technology Indore (IITI), India from 10 to 12 January, 2024.

Conference Session

- Weather Radar Technology, Radar Calibration and Electromagnetism
- Operational Radar Networks and Products
- Applications of Radar data in Meteorology, Hydrology, and Urban planning
- Quantitative Precipitation Estimation (QPE) and Urban Hydrological Applications
- Microphysical Studies and Dualpolarization observations
- Severe Weather observations and Storm Electrification
- Use of Radar Data for NWP Models
- Moving platforms such as Airborne and Space-borne Radars
- Millimeter Wavelength Radars for cloud observations
- · Wind profiling radars

Registration (Conference Only)

Registration can be done online. The fee for registration for various of categories are as below:

	Delegates	Students
Early Bid Registration	6500	3500
Late Registration	7500	4500
Onsite Registration	7500	4500

(For Workshop Only)

Registration fee for the workshop is ₹1000/- for all participants.

Important Dates

Abstract/Paper Submission Starts 12 Jul, 2023 Last Date for Abstract/Paper submission 31 Aug, 2023

Contact

Dr. Saurabh Das (Convenor iRAD2024)
Department of Astronomy, Astrophysics and
Space Engineering, Indian Institute of
Technology Indore, Madhya Pradesh, India
Email: <u>irad2024@iiti.ac.in</u>

Check the conference website regularly for the latest updates and announcements.







6th Conference on

Indian Radar Meteorology

iRAD-2024

10 to 12 January 2024

Venue:

Department of Astronomy Astrophysics and Space Engineering Indian Institute of Technology Indore Madhya Pradesh, India 452020







Young Scientist Award (YSA)

Young Scientist Prize will be awarded for the best two papers presented at the conference. In order to apply for the YSA program, each applicant, must be less than 35 years and should have a paper, of which she or he is the first author. The iRAD 2024 Young Scientist Program (YSP) Committee will peer-review the applications and select the awardees at the end.

Student Paper Competition (SPC)

Full-time university students who is the first author and the presenter of a paper (oral or poster) at a regular session of iRAD 2024, are eligible for application in the SPC. Three winners (consisting of the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd prize recipients) will be selected at the end.

Travel Support

Limited travel support is available for students and young scientists.

Advisory Committee

- Dr. Suhas S. Joshi (Director IIT Indore)
- Dr. M. Ravichandran (Secretary MoES)
- Shri S. Somanath (Chairman ISRO, Secretary DOS)
- Dr. Amit Kumar Patra (Director NARL)
- Dr. Anil Bhardwaj (Director PRL)
- Dr. Tirtha Pratim Das (Director ISRO-SSPO)
- Dr. Mrutyunjay Mohapatra (DG IMD)
- Shri Nilesh M. Desai (Director SAC)
- Dr. R. Krishnan (Director IITM Pune)
- Dr. Sanjai K. Dwivedi (Director DRDO)
- Dr. A. S. Kiran Kumar (Ex. Director ISRO)

Steering Committee

- Prof. V. Chandrasekar (Honorary Chair CSU)
- Prof. K. Jayanarayanan (IIT KGP)
- Prof. Balaji Narasimhan (IIT Madras)
- Dr. T. Narayana Rao (NARL)
- Dr. G. Pandithurai (IITM Pune)
- Dr. D. Pradhan (IMD New Delhi)
- Dr. Gajendra Kumar (IMD New Delhi)
- Prof. Abhirup Datta (IIT Indore)
- Dr. Swaroop Sahoo (IIT PKD)

Technical Programme Committee

- Prof. V. Chandrasekar (Honorary Chair, CSU)
- Dr. Saurabh Das (Convenor iRAD2024, IIT Indore)
- Prof. Abhirup Dutta (IIT Indore)
- Dr. T. Narayana Rao (NARL)
- Prof. K. Jayanarayanan (IIT KGP)
- Dr. G. Pandithurai (IITM Pune)
- Prof. Balaji Narasimhan (IIT Madras)
- Dr. Srinivasa Ramanujam Kannan (IIT BBS)
- Dr. Kiran Kumar (SPL)
- Mrs. Amar Jyothi (NCWRF)
- Prof. Animesh Maitra (Calcutta University)
- Dr. Raj Kumar (Ex. Director NRSC)
- Prof. Mohan Kumar (CUSAT)
- Dr. V. K. Anandan (ISTRAC)
- Dr. B. Radhakrishna (NARL)
- Dr. M. S. Deshpande (IITM Pune)
- Dr. Kaustav Chakravarty (IITM Pune)
- Dr. Subrata K. Das (IITM Pune)
- Mr. S. B. Thampi (IMD)
- Dr. R. Suresh (IMD)
- Dr. Shoma Senroy (IMD)
- Mr. G M Srinivasa Viswanathan

- Prof. Krishna Redddy (YVU)
- Dr. Thara Prabhakaran (IITM Pune)
- Mrs. P. Yashoda (NARL)

Local Organising Committee

- Dr. Saurabh Das (Convenor iRAD2024, IIT Indore)
- Prof. Abhirup Dutta (IIT Indore)
- Dr. Unmesh Khati (IIT Indore)
- Dr. Narendra Nath Patra (IIT Indore)
- Dr. Saptarshi Ghosh (IIT Indore)

About IIT Indore

IIT Indore was established in 2009 with motto of 'ज्ञानम सर्वजनहिताय (Knowledge is for the wellbeing of everyone)'. It belongs to IIT family which is known to provide best education in Engineering and Technology across India. IIT Indore has shown relentless effort in providing the best platform for education as well as research in several areas of science and technology. The Department of Astronomy, Astrophysics and Space Engineering (DAASE) was established in December 2015 as an interdisciplinary division, focusing on a wide range of topics in the domain of Astronomy and Space weather and navigation studies.

About Indore

Indore, the "Cleanest City in India," impresses visitors with its impeccable cleanliness and efficient waste management. The city boasts architectural gems like Rajwada Palace and Lal Bagh Palace, while food enthusiasts can savor the diverse street food at Sarafa Bazaar and Chhappan Dukan.